Things I learned from this weekend

This weekend was an exercise in cooking gluten free while also cooking within my own allergies. I am that rare person who is allergic to all grains except wheat and rice. As a result, when I was asked to make something without wheat, it limited my playing field severely. I searched the internet and found a few rice based recipes, but when I compared the shopping list of what needed to be purchased, with purchasing something pre-made, well the difference was immense for ingredients that I probably would not use again before they expired. On top of that, I was also searching for a means to make my recipes work for a gluten intolerant person. So that meant no fillo dough, no wheat based pastry, and no homemade bread in my kitchen. Some would say at this point that I could still bake using gloves, but truthfully, I couldn’t. For me to bake with anything outside of wheat or rice was to basically make myself ill for the next 3-5 days depending on how much of the ingredients I inhaled.

So the hunt was on for creative ways to make my recipes still work. Luckily, I found a fellow blogger who posted a recipe for Kibbeh using Quinoa. That worked wonderfully since the event was about the “Crossroads: Silk Road” from the medieval perspective. I then found rice crackers and experimented with them for a crust for my vegetable tarts. I found that if I put two crackers down and added a piece of cheese between them that the bottom cracker remained crisp while the top on joined with the veggie tarts. Another friend suggested a watermelon based salad. So I hunted around for different recipes and wound up ditching almost all of them for my own concept of watermelon, mint, feta, and a raspberry vinaigrette.

I was still stumped for the bread, though. I kept looking around. I ran into many different wraps, etc, but nothing truly looked appetizing. The wraps I found looked bland and tasteless. I finally settled on a rice based bread that did the trick. So my question for those of you who are gluten intolerant, do you have a tasty recipe for a wrap that I can add? I wanted to make a pita or a wrap, but never did find a good one. If you do have a good recipe for one, please post a link below.

Leave a Reply

