Drumming Therapy Anyone? 8/3/14

I had the most fun yesterday. I always knew that drummers usually have the biggest grins when they are playing their instruments. Well, I may have cracked the reason why. Drumming releases stress in the best way!

By nature, I am that person that shies away from meeting groups of new people. I much prefer one to one interactions with good friends. So, it was a huge step for me to actually go to the drumming circle in the first place, but I trusted Rick since I’ve known him 30 years now. He and I have sung in all sorts of chorister guilds together and have maintained a very strong friendship, if distant due to my living anywhere from 100-2500 miles away at any given time. So whenever we would get together it was always hugs, catching up, and fun.

Over time Rick has stayed true to his music and even cut a CD with a group of Middle Eastern musicians, while I have gone in and out. So, when he asked who would be interested in joining up for a percussion group, I contacted him and said, “Sure, but I don’t have a drum”. He gave me the places to go to and offered to join me in hunting out a good one at a decent price. Well, somehow the day of the meetup came and I still didn’t have a drum. Let’s just call it life.

We met up at a store before the circle and he told me I needed to go to another store, but that the circle was due to start. He said that there would be spare drums so I could still participate! Nervous, shy, scared, didn’t begin to tell the story of my emotional grid, but there was a thrumming excitement coating all of it. I met up with everyone. My son joined us and for almost 3 hours we played, we learned, and we drummed our hearts out.

I left with directions to the third store in the Atlanta area to look at drums. Rick told me straight up that when I found the one that was mine, it would speak to me. So, I entered the store and when the guy asked if I needed help, I told him that he was gonna need to really help me a lot ’cause I was there to buy my first drum. Instead of taking advantage of me like so many others could have, this guy joined the excitement bandwagon and began pulling down doumbeks and djembes of all sizes. Then he brought a chair over and showed me how to sit and the proper tilt. He didn’t try to sell me the most expensive one. Matter of fact he told me it was too big especially for me to learn on. He brought me a wide range of prices. When I hit this one drum we looked at each other and grinned. It spoke with a clear sweet sound that was all for me šŸ™‚

So yesterday was day one of my drumming experience. I’m sure my neighbors will get sick of hearing middle eastern drum patterns after a while, but I’m sure gonna have fun until they do!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. humanembodiment
    Aug 03, 2014 @ 16:43:10

    I’m pleased you’ve discovered a new passion. Drumming is intensely releasing. I love listening to rhythms now and again. What is your drum like?? šŸ™‚

    Reply

    • Quietude's Junction
      Aug 03, 2014 @ 18:44:12

      Mine is a djembe. It has the traditional rope tightening system and was hand carved. I’ve spent probably the last hour looking up how to play, variations on rhythms, history of it, etc, lol šŸ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

