Fruit Salad with a Kick

When I was in high school my Gramma and I were making fruit salad. We cut up the watermelon, the honey dew, the cantaloupe. We added peaches, split grapes, sliced strawberries, and blueberries. We mixed it all up and I was thinking it was a pretty decent fruit salad. I, however, was very wrong. My Gramma had a different plan for the fruit.

With a twinkle in her eye, Gramma looked at me and said, “It’s pretty boring right now. Let’s take it up a notch!” So, with a sassy grin, she reached into my parent’s liquor cabinet and pulled out the Grand Marnier. Looking at the bottle, I went to get a measuring cup and she kinda chuckled at me. She said that a good fruit salad doesn’t need a measuring cup, it needs someone to dazzle it and a good taster. That day I learned all about jazzing up fruit salad. Since then whenever I add Grand Marnier to anything I think of Gramma, remember that day, and grin.

Fruit Salad with a Kick
1/2 of a good sized watermelon diced
1 cantaloupe, chopped into bite sized pieces
1 honey dew, chopped into bite sized pieces
1 quart of strawberries sliced in half
1 pint of blueberries
1 bunch of grapes cut in half
3-4 peaches, sliced and chunked
(any other fruit you want to add)
1/2 to 3/4 Cup Grand Marnier

1) Mix up the fruit into a very large bowl
2) Add the Grand Marnier and mix thoroughly
3) Allow to CHILL for at least an hour
4) Serve

Optional: Sometimes it works out better to just cut the fruit, dish it up, then drizzle the alcohol on top. If you do it this way, it does not saturate into the fruit as well.
Other alcohols I have used are Amaretto and Frangelico. Both give a nutty flavor to the fruit. I’m sure there are lots of others you may want to try. Be creative 🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mark Baron
    Jul 17, 2014 @ 17:15:07

    yummmmmm

    Reply

Leave a Reply

