Simple Pork Roast

Simple Pork Roast

2-3 Lbs of pork roast
3 potatoes peeled and chunked into bite sized pieces
1 onion peeled and sliced (I usually use a sweet, yellow preferably Vidalia)
4-6 carrots peeled and chunked into bite sized pieces
4-6 parsnips peeled and chunked into bite sized pieces
Garlic
Salt
Pepper
Rosemary
1-1/2 C Water

1) Preheat oven to 350
2) Coat the bottom of a 13X9 pan with the spices in a light coat (I never measure these, I simple make sure that there is some a little bit of everywhere)
3) Rinse off the roast, then place it in the center of the pan
4) Place the cut veggies around it leaving out about ¼ cup of onion
5) Coat the top of the roast with the spices, then cover that with the left-over onion
6) Sprinkle the spices over the veggies
7) Bake at 350 for ½ hour, stir the veggies making sure they are not sticking
8) Add water. There should be enough water to rise about a ½ inch up on the pan
9) Return to the oven and bake another 30-45 minutes until the top of the roast is nicely browned (Watch for the top of the roast to crisp up just a bit on the edges. The fatty portions will brown and the rest will turn golden. Also, check the veggies at this time. If they are not done, cover the roast with aluminum foil and put it back in for up to 30 minutes. I had an oven that always read the right temperature but baked slower than slow, so just make sure)
10) Once the top is browned insert a meat thermometer for the desired temperature. (Here I will actually slice my roast to see if it is the color that I desire. I go for a very soft pink inside with no running bloody juices.
11) Take the pan out of the oven, cover with aluminum foil and let sit for 15-20 minutes before serving.
12) The carrots will still have a little crisp to them, the potatoes should be sliceable with a fork.

Variations

1) Sometimes I use broth or V-8 instead of water. Both add a separate richness to the meal. But when I just want the taste of the pork, I use water.
2) I have also used turnips, northern beans, and other assorted vegetables. It truly depends on my mood. They all work, but some will disintegrate and become mushy.
3) Another variation is when I choose to use apples with the onions. Then I swap out the garlic and rosemary for sweeter spices such as cinnamon, cardamom, ginger. I also use sliced fresh ginger.

Leave a Reply

